Royal Doulton Countess China

30 Jul

I collect Royal Doulton Countess china – the old Countess, not the nasty new lattice one. It’s hard to find, though, so I’m always on the lookout. I often see items listed on eBay, but it’s generally quite expensive, while most of my most treasured pieces have been found at car boot sales and auctions for mere pennies. And some lovely friends gave me a whole box of Countess bits a couple of years ago when I moved to Cornwall from Pembrokeshire.

I’m not sure of the exact history of the pattern, but I think most of my pieces date from the 1910s and ’20s.

It’s also the pattern used by the divine Dorcas Lane in the BBC adaptation of Larkrise to Candleford! You can see it at about 3:40 here. Oh, how I covet her Welsh dresser full of Countess china.

10 Responses to “Royal Doulton Countess China”

  1. Cosy Home Blog September 20, 2010 at 8:34 am #

    That’s nice that you get to see it in Larkrise to Candleford! I’ve got a set that I collect too and have occasionally managed to get pieces on Ebay, but generally the prices are too high. It’s fun looking out for it in charity shops, table top sales etc though!

  2. steve September 9, 2011 at 1:52 am #

    hi i have a full set of this , just missing one cup

    • Helen September 9, 2011 at 6:50 am #

      You’re very lucky!

  3. linda October 10, 2011 at 10:26 pm #

    I have been collecting for years and have just acquired a whole dinner set!! But I am still looking for the odd pieces that are missing ie candle sticks, cruet set. But it is so expensive on ebay. linda of kent

    • Helen October 10, 2011 at 10:50 pm #

      I’m so jealous about your dinner set! Lucky you! I’ve done better at car boot sales and auctions than on eBay.

  4. Helen October 30, 2011 at 10:22 am #

    🙂
    My name is also Helen and I also collect Countess 😀 I’ve just started watching Lark Rise to Candleford and 8:50 into the very first episode out comes the Countess.

    They also used Countess in the most recent series of Upstairs Downstairs.

    Your are lucky that you are in the UK, there Countess pickings are a lot slimmer here in Aus.

  5. Marianne Staley-Hill December 6, 2011 at 1:42 pm #

    I feel in love with Countess Design when I saw it in a Charity Shop near my Mum in Essex. I managed to pick up nearly a whole Dinner service. comprising of 6 dinner plates, 6 side. 1 covered tureen,1 serving veg bowl, for £25.00 it was up for £35.00 and I cheekily asked if they would reduce it as I only had £25.00 left from my birthday money.Have now been colleting bits of ebay, I missed the beautiful cruet set, wished I’d bid higher. It went for about £22.00. Maybe I’ll start looking at car boot sales. I really envy anyone who has the complete set it is Beautiful, so Elegant, I love it. Happy hunting out there to all you countess collectors. Marianne.

  6. M Clark April 10, 2012 at 1:06 am #

    Hi Helen
    I also love this pattern and have seen it in black and yellow where the green is replaced with the yellow. I was wondering if you have also come across this version?
    M

    • Helen April 10, 2012 at 7:59 am #

      I haven’t, but then I’m so partial to green that I may have just overlooked it. Is it also Royal Doulton?

      • M Clark May 5, 2012 at 10:17 am #

        Yes it is Royal Doulton . I’ve been told its a rare colour combination .

Leave a Reply

