Bramble Jelly

15 Sep

Blackberry Mania continues here at our house. Yesterday I made some scrumptious bramble jelly which I spread liberally, with lashings of butter, on a toasted crumpet for breakfast this morning.

Bramble Jelly
(I halved this recipe)

3 lbs blackberries
2 cooking apples, washed, cored and diced
Juice of 1 large lemon
450 ml water
Sugar (amount varies)
2 Tbsp Cassis

Wash and drain the blackberries. Put in a preserving pan (or any heavy-based saucepan) along with the apple, lemon juice and water. Simmer for about an hour.

Strain the berry mixture in damp muslin in a sieve over a large bowl for 8 hours, or overnight. I find it easier to just leave it to drip all night. If you’re lucky enough to have one of those jelly bag contraptions, then use that. I just jerry-rig my own and it works fine.

Sterilise some jars – I do it by washing them in hot, soapy water, then putting them upside down on a rack in the oven to dry. Half an hour at 140C (120C fan) should do it.

Pour your berry liquid into a measuring cup and see how much you’ve got. For every 600ml, weigh out 450g of sugar. You can use special preserving sugar if you’d like, but I just use ordinary granulated. Add the sugar to the juice in a big saucepan and heat over low until the sugar is completely dissolved.

Add the Cassis and let the mixture simmer until it reaches setting point. I’ve always been told that you can tell it’s done if you dribble a little bit of the jelly onto a cold saucer, and it sort of wrinkles. However, that never seems to work for me. I just simmer it for about 15 minutes and it’s fine.

Pour into jars, cool and eat!

2 Responses to “Bramble Jelly”

  1. Trace September 16, 2010 at 11:27 am #

    LOVE anything bramble!

  2. Geeta September 16, 2010 at 4:27 pm #

    Needless to say, I love your china.

Leave a Reply

