Homemade Bath Salts

27 Sep

After a bumper crop of lavender this year, I have far too many dried bunches hanging up in the loft just waiting for me to do something with them. And when I came across this pretty bottle at the Braderie in Lille earlier this month, I knew exactly what would go in it. Homemade lavender bath salts!

On this gorgeous, hot and sunny Cornish afternoon, I took all my bath salt ingredients out to the garden and worked outside. I used pure Dead Sea salt and added some drops of lavender essential oil. I like mine very lavender-y, so I added quite a bit, but you can use as much or as little as you like. Then I added some of my dried lavender and that was it!

You don’t have to use Dead Sea salt – ordinary sea salt from the supermarket will do. And it doesn’t have to be lavender. Use whatever scent essential oil you prefer. I think rose, with some dried rose petals in it, would be nice. Or, for something less floral, use rosemary oil with a bit of dried rosemary in it. That would be lovely!

I’m going to be selfish and keep this bottle for myself, but it would make an excellent Christmas present. I might have a look around some local car boot sales to see if I can find more pretty jars or bottles.

7 Responses to “Homemade Bath Salts”

  1. Liz September 27, 2010 at 3:53 pm #

    not if I see them first!
    Seriously though these look great and isn’t it a beautiful day..

    • Helen September 27, 2010 at 3:54 pm #

      It’s so gorgeous out! I can’t believe I wasted all morning indoor cleaning!

  2. Lori September 27, 2010 at 4:31 pm #

    Helen – you need to write a book with all of your fun, homey ideas – you’re a Welsh Martha Stewart!! 🙂

  3. Stacey September 28, 2010 at 6:20 pm #

    I am so impressed!

  4. Trace September 28, 2010 at 10:52 pm #

    How lovely!

  5. The Hausfrau September 29, 2010 at 10:50 am #

    Lovely bottle. I used to make bath salts with lavender, but I never thought to use rosemary! I think I’ll make up some rosemary salts for the cooler months, since I have both loads of fresh rosemary outside and rosemary eo…

    • Helen September 29, 2010 at 6:20 pm #

      You *must* try it with rosemary! I think it would be a slightly more masculine scent, but I quite like that. I love your blog, by the way, and have added you to my blogroll. 🙂

Leave a Reply

