Letter-writing

1 Oct

I’ll admit that I conduct most of my correspondence with friends and family by e-mail or over the telephone.

But today I was intrigued by For Books’ Sake and its mention of letter-writing events at the Freeword Flow Festival in London. There was a letter-writing workshop this afternoon followed by a letter-writing club night this evening. Do we really need to be taught how to write letters? Are we that out of touch with pen and paper?

It seems so.

Gone are the days when, as Jane Austen wrote in Pride and Prejudice, “the arrival of letters was the first grand object of every morning’s impatience.”

So make yourself a cup of tea, get out your best fountain pen, dig up that beautiful stationery I know you have hidden at the back of a desk drawer, and write a letter to someone you love.

5 Responses to “Letter-writing”

  1. Geeta October 1, 2010 at 5:26 pm #

    I’m writing one this weekend…to you!

    • Helen October 1, 2010 at 5:30 pm #

      And I’ll write one back! 🙂

  2. Michelle October 1, 2010 at 9:03 pm #

    How did I not know you had this blog until today? I’ve added you to my blogroll. Love it! And the design is so nice!

    • Helen October 1, 2010 at 9:39 pm #

      Thank you, Michelle! I’ve added you too!

  3. Stacey October 12, 2010 at 6:25 pm #

    I love this picture H! I’d write you a letter too, but my handwriting is terrible!:)-

Leave a Reply

