Drop Scones

3 Nov

Today I came across this wonderful Stuart Gardiner bag (and matching tea towel):

The perfect gift for the peacenik/foodie on your Christmas list!

Of course, that picture immediately made me hungry for drop scones, which I haven’t had in years. My mother used to make them for me when I needed comforting (i.e., school trouble, boy trouble or work trouble). Most people say they’re best warm and freshly made, but I always liked them cold, slathered with butter and strawberry jam.

Drop Scones

Ingredients:
225g self-raising flour
50g caster sugar
1 egg
50g butter, melted
300ml milk

Method:
Mix all the ingredients together to make a smooth batter. You may not need all the milk, or you might need a bit more.

Heat up a griddle or heavy frying pan. Grease it if needed. Drop the batter in by small spoonfuls. When each drop scone bubbles, flip it over and cook until the other side is golden brown.

I make mine small and dainty, so I got about 30 out of the mixture.

Simple, delicious and peace-loving.

4 Responses to “Drop Scones”

  1. The Hausfrau November 4, 2010 at 8:40 am #

    Yum! Funny, in the U.S., these are called “pancakes.” I think that what you would call “pancakes” are our “crepes” (of course, there are slight variations). I noticed this while watching the River Cottage breakfast episode last week.

    Fun towel and bag!

    • Helen November 4, 2010 at 10:19 am #

      I make American pancakes too! But these are slightly different in that they’re a bit sweeter. And they’re eaten at tea, not for breakfast. You’re right – what we call pancakes are the same as your crepes. I like all of them!

      • Trace November 12, 2010 at 11:40 am #

        we’d call these Scotch pancakes, north of the border.

      • Helen November 13, 2010 at 12:17 pm #

        But ‘Scotch pancakes not bombs’ isn’t nearly as pithy! 😉

Leave a Reply

