Knitting

18 Nov

I’m very much a beginner, so please be kind.

I’ve been taking knitting lessons for six weeks now and, sadly, tonight is our last class. I think we’ll be able to schedule a few more for after Christmas, though, so I won’t have to wait too long. I look forward to Thursday evening so much and will really miss our little gatherings at Knit Wits in Penzance!

So far the lovely (and extremely patient) Julia has got us to knit a long garter stitch scarf, a stocking stitch shrug and a cabled bag. My in-progress cabled bag is above. Since I took that photo, I’ve actually finished the knitting part of the project and only have to attach handles.

I’m completely addicted to it now, which I’m sure those of you who knit will understand. There’s no better way to while away a chilly winter afternoon than sitting down with a cup of tea and some knitting, preferably without too many dropped stitches.

6 Responses to “Knitting”

  1. june in ireland November 18, 2010 at 10:30 pm #

    I think you’re doing brilliantly, Helen. Fair play and well done, you. I wish I knew how to knit, or that I could go for lessons or find someone to teach me, one-on-one. I did try my hand at knitting many (many!) years ago when I was a Girl Guide, but I’ve long since forgotten even the most basic of the basic steps. I’ve taken out a couple of ‘knitting for beginners’ books from the library, and even have a starter kit with magazine, yarn, needles and DVD, but still, I get frustrated and give up too easily, I think.

    Any advice or encouraging words/tips would be most appreciated.

    By the way, if I’ve not mentioned this before, I think your blog is lovely (as is your cabled bag).

    • Helen November 19, 2010 at 7:37 am #

      Thanks for the wonderful compliment, June!

      My knitting history sounds very much like yours. I was taught as a child, but never got much further than beginning a scarf which I never finished. Then as a grown-up, I tried to teach myself using books and online videos, but that was tough. I think everyone learns differently and some people *can* learn from books – but I need to actually be shown in person. If you’re serious about learning, I think popping into your local wool shop(s) would be a good first step. They may have classes on offer or, if not, they should be able to point you in the right direction.

      Let me know how you get on!

      • june in ireland November 21, 2010 at 10:50 pm #

        Sadly, the nearest wool/yarn/haberdashery supply shop (called the Gingham Duck, which I think is a charming name for a shop) is a good hour’s drive each way from my home, but you’re right – perhaps they could point me in the right direction, and perhaps even closer to where I live than I realise. What I need is a hands-on, one-to-one, teacher and student scenario. I realised a while back that this is just a personality trait (that sometimes drive me to distraction – this need to be perfect from the very beginning, I mean, and feeling like a failure if I’m not perfect from the very beginning). I was like this as a kid trying to teach myself classical guitar, but did much better when I took lessons from a brilliant teacher. I was like this when I tried to do yoga on my own, too. Taking a class with a proper yoga instructor in a yoga studio helped me so much. I think this is the only way I’m going to ‘get’ my knitting groove back from all those years ago. I just need someone patient (very patient!) and someone who can explain things, step-by-step, and show me what I’m doing wrong (as well as what I’m hopefully doing right, in time) and steer me on the right path to knitting nirvana. I also would love to learn how to do cross-stitching and crocheting…but one thing at a time, right?

        I will definitely let you know how things fare once I talk to the folks at the Gingham Duck. Thanks for reading through all this, Helen. And thanks, too, for inspiring and re-motivating me.

  2. Michelle November 21, 2010 at 9:40 pm #

    I tried to teach myself to knit a couple of years ago. It didn’t go so well. I wish there were classe around here! Lucky you! 🙂

    • Trace November 24, 2010 at 7:59 am #

      I’m not into the idea of knitting, but I do wish I could sew!

      Well done, H!

  3. Lindy November 28, 2010 at 2:20 pm #

    Oh I so wish I could knit- sadly I don’t think I have the patience for it!

Leave a Reply

