Newlyn Cheese

14 Dec

I had my first visit to the new Newlyn Cheese shop today, and what a treat it was!

It’s very small, but perfectly lovely and filled with the most delicious cheeses, biscuits, bread, chutneys, etc.

And who could resist cheeses with names like Miss Muffet and Ticklemore Goat?

I came home with wedges of Miss Muffet, Rachel and Cornish Blue. Miss Muffet is soft and mild and I bought it for my Gouda-loving husband. Rachel is quite possibly the yummiest cheese I’ve ever tasted. My mother-in-law thought it smelled of goat, but my sister-in-law and I were smitten. It was apparently named for an ex-girlfriend of the cheesemaker and is described as “sweet, curvy and slightly nutty.” Hah! I had to buy some of the Cornish Blue because last month it won top honours at the World Cheese Awards, the first time in a decade that a British cheese has won. And it beat 2,600 other entries!

World Cheese Awards … now why aren’t those televised?

I very nearly also bought some of the Yarg wrapped in wild garlic leaves, but decided to leave that for a future visit. And I’m confident there’ll be plenty of future visits.

7 Responses to “Newlyn Cheese”

  1. Liz December 14, 2010 at 6:03 pm #

    Oh wow ! An immediate visit is definitely called for – funnily enough I had my first taste of Yarg with garlic on Saturday – it was delicious!!

    • Helen December 18, 2010 at 10:08 am #

      You must go, Liz!

  2. Liz December 18, 2010 at 12:45 pm #

    I’ve been – what a find! So I bought Rachel and Helston Blue and resisted the fruit pastes and the fab chutneys – now regretting that decision…

  3. Carey December 21, 2010 at 6:07 pm #

    This place alone looks like good enough reason to return to Cornwall! And World Cheese Awards?!? That has just made its way to my “must do before I die” list. Sounds like heaven. Was the Cornish Blue deserving of it’s crowning as champion?

    • Helen December 21, 2010 at 6:32 pm #

      Without tasting the other 2,599 cheeses in the competition (a girl can dream), I couldn’t really say. But it was delicious.

  4. Tristan December 24, 2010 at 10:32 pm #

    This shop really is a nice find and I wish them all the best. The shop itself hasn’t had the best of fortune in recent local history, but I think that the “Cheese Shop” as it is becoming known as, has a real good shot of carving out a great niche market.

    Great addition to Newlyn.

  5. Stacey January 13, 2011 at 5:19 pm #

    I love these photos H! Anything to do with cheese is fabulous! I love the names and descriptions!

Leave a Reply

