Claire’s Persephone Secret Santa

15 Dec

The gorgeous Claire who blogs over at Paperback Reader (go and have a look – it’s really good) organised a splendid Persephone Books Secret Santa this year.

My Santa turned out to be my friend Cate (aka bleuroses)! When I say ‘friend’, I don’t mean that we’ve actually met face-to-face (yet), but that we’ve become good online friends thanks to our bonding over Persephones and Virago Modern Classics over on LibraryThing.

I think Cate knows my library pretty well because she made a fabulous choice for me – The Priory by Dorothy Whipple. She cleverly slipped the beautiful bookmark under the ribbon so I know which book it is, but I’m not actually going to open it until Christmas Day.

This is my 37th Persephone book (not counting the ones I have in other editions) and a very welcome addition it is indeed!

But that’s not all.

A few weeks ago, I received a parcel from Persephone in London containing a lovely book bag bearing the Persephone logo. However, there was no note or card or message in the parcel and I was at a complete loss. I’d half convinced myself that I’d ordered the bag myself and just forgotten about it. I finally gave in and got in touch with the folks at Persephone who told me who’d bought it.

So a double thank you to Cate!

Not only do I now have the most fabulous book bag on the planet, but I’ve also lined up my first read of 2011.

4 Responses to “Claire’s Persephone Secret Santa”

  1. Claire (Paperback Reader) December 15, 2010 at 6:35 pm #

    Lovely post, Helen, and thank you for your kind words.

    I love that the tote was a complete -albeit confusing- surprise as I thought that my covert “research” email on behalf of Cate had given the game away! I am so pleased that I managed to pair you two up.

  2. Karenlibrarian December 17, 2010 at 10:04 pm #

    Thirty-seven Persephones!!! Wow! I’m jealous as I have only 12 so far. Dear Santa, please bring more!

    And I reaallly want one of those tote bags! I think I need to email the shop and enquire!

  3. Care December 21, 2010 at 3:58 pm #

    Yes, wow. If I had 37 of these, I might be tempted to decorate an entire room in grey and pink and showcase the books as central focus. Very nice. Happy Persephone Holiday!

  4. Margaret Perry January 7, 2011 at 5:05 pm #

    Mine arrived! thank you so so much, Helen!

    http://wondrouspilgrim.blogspot.com/2011/01/books-of-2010-and-persephone-secret.html

Leave a Reply

