Hot Water Bottle Covers

1 Feb

My friend Barbara, who can make anything and make it beautifully, gave me a gorgeous handmade hot water bottle cover for Christmas. I believe she made it from a Welsh blanket. I should really have photographed it a month ago because it’s beginning to look a little ‘loved’ – but that only makes it all the more precious to me.

If you’re like me, you can’t possibly go to bed at this time of the year without a hot water bottle. Or a hottie, as it’s usually known in my family. For some reason, my husband calls it a bot-bot, but that’s just plain wrong. It’s a hottie or, if you’re feeling a little bit frivolous, a hottle-bottle. But never a bot-bot. Perish the thought.

Anyway, on the off chance that you don’t have a crafty friend like Barbara, I thought I’d share some of my favourite hot water bottle covers available in shops and online:

Here’s a beautiful hand-knitted cover from Ageeta. It can be made in a variety of colours and patterns, but this one would be my pick:

And a lovely cotton-linen Corsica cover from étoile home:

And here’s a stunning classic 100% cashmere cable-knitted cover from Plum & Ivory:

Or what about a luxurious velvet quilted cover? These lovelies are from Graham and Green:

And here are some  more beautiful hand-knitted covers. First this one from Seven Gauge Studios:

Or this one from Catherine Tough:

Or perhaps this lovely fairisle cover from Papa Stour. I love the ruffle:

Papa Stour also has another of my favourites, this felted jacquard cover:

For something a little less cuddly, what about these very tasteful lightly-quilted linen covers from Volga Linen:

Or these cheerful flowery printed covers from Alison Capeling:

Or this pretty V&A collection cover, available at Argos:

Or what about a slinky silk cover like this ivory one from Made in Silk:

And for those days when you just can’t bring yourself to get out of bed and face the day, there’s always this one, available from The Gifted Penguin:

4 Responses to “Hot Water Bottle Covers”

  1. Geeta February 1, 2011 at 2:51 pm #

    Gorgeous!! I love yours the most.

  2. The Hausfrau February 1, 2011 at 3:11 pm #

    That last one cracks me up! I don’t know why “hotties” ever went out of fashion in the U.S.–we had one when I was very young, but I haven’t seen them around that much since then. Our family finally bought a couple of them recently, here in Germany. I need to buy (or make) some cuter covers for them, though!

  3. Joan Hunter Dunn February 1, 2011 at 8:36 pm #

    oh I think I shall start calling them hottle bottles… I love the G&G ones – my favourite sleep masks are in that range. I covet a cashmere one…..

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Mr Bean – Sandwich making : Cars Blog | Everything You should Know about Cars - February 8, 2011

    […] Hot Water Bottle Covers « Lovely Things […]

Leave a Reply

