Mr. B’s Emporium of Reading Delights

1 Mar

Bath has no shortage of lovely bookshops (including the amazing Topping’s), but Mr. B’s holds a special place in my heart.

In addition to a great selection of books over three floors, lovely comfy chairs, book groups and author talks, there’s the wonder of THE READING BOOTH. You pay £3.50 for 30 minutes of peace, quiet and bliss. Close the door to the world, sink into a big leather chair, enjoy coffee or tea and Mr. B’s cookie jar, and lose yourself in a stack of books, audiobooks or music of your choice.

I think my favourite thing about Mr. B’s, however, is the gorgeous giftwrapping.

It’s a beautiful way to give a present to a friend … but I’ve been known to have books for myself giftwrapped because it looks so nice. And when I open my book, it feels even more special.

So next time you’re in Bath, take a walk down John Street and spend an hour or three at Mr. B’s.

5 Responses to “Mr. B’s Emporium of Reading Delights”

  1. Geeta March 1, 2011 at 3:29 pm #

    I MUST visit this place before I die. Must.

  2. Liz March 1, 2011 at 3:41 pm #

    Can I go and live there please?

  3. Jessica {lovely jubbly london} March 3, 2011 at 3:24 pm #

    I think I need to back to Bath and stock up on gifts!

  4. Rose April 2, 2011 at 8:29 am #

    Wow o wow. Is Bath on the way from London to Hay? Might try to get there in late May – otherwise it’ll have to be the autumn once all the summer weddings/hen dos are out of the way…

    • Helen April 2, 2011 at 9:18 am #

      It’s not too far out of the way if you’re driving, Rose! Definitely worth a trip, if not in May then in the autumn. I’ll be at Hay too!

Leave a Reply

