Royal Wedding Merchandise (with Giveaway!)

4 Apr

It’s April. And that means springtime, Easter, taxes (for my American friends) and, of course, the Royal Wedding.

I’ve been creating a virtual collection of some of my favourite Royal Wedding souvenirs. Some are lovely and some are pure tat. Either way, they’re all worth having. Almost all.

Let’s start with tea towels. Here are two I love. First, one by Swedish graphic designer Maria Dahlgren, available for £12 from Cloudberry Living:

And one by Gemma Correll, one of my favourite designers ever, anywhere. Gemma’s is £9.95, available from To Dry For:

If you’re feeling crafty, you could knit your own Royal Wedding for only £6.19 from Amazon:

Here are a couple of ideas for the children. First, some Wills and Kate paperdolls, only £4.19 from Amazon:

… or this amazing HappyLand Royal Wedding set, complete with Corgi, for only £15 from ELC:

Illustrator and printmaker James Brown has created this stunning poster announcing the Royal Wedding. You can buy a signed and dated copy for £43:

If you’re planning a Royal Wedding party on the 29th (I am!), you might want to send invitations on these quirky cards (£2.50) from Lazy Oaf:

At your party, why not serve some of these gorgeous hand-iced biscuits (£38) from Biscuiteers:

And what better way to serve your biscuits than on one of these fabulous plates (£20) from KK Outlet?

Of course, you’ll need something to drink with your biscuits, so how about using these Kate and Wills teabags, for only £4.95 from Liberty:

If tea isn’t your bevvy of choice, you might prefer a bottle of Kiss Me Kate beer, made by Castle Rock Brewery and available at Morrison’s nationwide:

If you overdo it on all the biscuits and beer, you may, however, need one of these hand-screened sick bags by Lydia Leith:

Finally, here are my two favourite Royal Wedding souvenirs. One sublime: These lambswool knitted gloves (£35) by Donna Wilson:

… and one ridiculous: Crown Jewels condoms (£5):

And now for the free giveaway!

All you need to do is comment on this blog entry telling me what you’ll be doing on the 29th, and your name will go into a drawing for a bottle of No More Waity, Katie nail lacquer from butter London. Created in honour of the Royal Wedding and retailing for £15, No More Waity, Katie is described as, “a soft, elegant greige shade with a splash of lilac glitter for the perfect marriage to combine fashion and fun.”

So leave a comment and be in with a chance to have sparkly nails in time for the Royal Wedding! I’ll draw the winner’s name a week from today, on Monday 11 April.

Good luck!

18 Responses to “Royal Wedding Merchandise (with Giveaway!)”

  1. LadyLiberty April 4, 2011 at 1:05 pm #

    Eventhough you are well aware of my feeling on the Royal Wedding Hoopla, I love this list of things you’ve put together! I am so ordering one of the “Kate to my Wills” cards for my anniversary coming up!

    Oh and on the 29th I’ll be flying in from America and going straight to the nearest street party (in the next village/town) with my sick bags in hand.

    Enjoy your party!

  2. Michelle April 4, 2011 at 1:07 pm #

    That nail polish sounds lovely!!!

    I really wish I could come to your party. 🙂

    On the 29th I will be watching the royal wedding on TV, probably by myself, unless I can get my husband to watch! I’m excited about it! LOL

    Love the HappyLand playset and plan on picking one up from ELC.

    This post was full of awesome! 🙂

  3. Pamela April 4, 2011 at 1:10 pm #

    Gorgeous stuff!
    I’ll be suffering from jet-lag after my flight back to the US, which means I’ll be wide awake to watch all the live action on tv. Hopefully, I can convince my mother to watch with me at that time!

  4. Jenn April 4, 2011 at 1:28 pm #

    I saw a Will & Kate paperdoll book in a craft shop. Very creepy.

    It looks like I’m going to a Royal Wedding Hoedown, otherwise known as a Young Farmers Club celebration. (I think I’m the only one who’s calling it a hoedown actually).

    I can’t say the Royal Wedding “tickles my fancy”, but I think it will still be fun!

  5. Kim April 4, 2011 at 1:55 pm #

    I think my friend is having a party, so I’ll be going to that. I remember watching Charles and Diana’s wedding, so there’s no way I’ll miss this one! The nail polish sounds lovely! What a great souvenir!

  6. Sara April 4, 2011 at 2:09 pm #

    I’ll be sad, wishing I was there!!!

  7. Pam April 4, 2011 at 2:20 pm #

    I think this does call for a party! I should have a US version!

  8. Geeta April 4, 2011 at 2:39 pm #

    I so wish I could come to your party! I think you’ve inspired me to have a mini party of my own, even if it’s just baby and me celebrating! I think my favorite is the lovely poster by James Brown. And the dress up dolls are pretty cute, too.

  9. Jessica {lovely jubbly london} April 4, 2011 at 7:22 pm #

    I have been dying for this polish! I hope to be somewhere warm but will probably watch the wedding on tv.

    The William & Kate paperdolls are hysterical looking!

  10. Katy M April 4, 2011 at 9:07 pm #

    Wow! What fun items- especially the polish! Thanks for the awesome giveaway!!! 🙂

  11. JoAnn Houghtby April 5, 2011 at 12:50 am #

    Super fun post! Fantastic Blog!!! I ordered 3 sets of those toddler playsets of the royal family for my son and (two to sell back in The States). 🙂 Thanks for sharing all those fun items! And thank you for adding me to your generous give-away!! I’ll be hanging out at home, drinking tea and taking it all in. Oh…and eating some of those royal biscuits that I’ve already ordered and nibbled on from the Biscuiteers! So yummy! 🙂 Will check back often! Stop by sometime: http://www.mnukgirl.blogspot.com aka …and Bob’s Your Uncle! 🙂 Jo

  12. Leigh April 5, 2011 at 2:37 am #

    April 29th- A special day indeed! I will be celebrating my baby girl’s 20th birthday!!! So happy the Brits will also celebrate this great day with us! lol Seriously, I’ll be watching on TV, just like I did with Charles & Di.

    I love the collection of Royal Wedding items. It’s hard to decide which I like the best. The gloves are cute, but the tea bags are so English!!!

    Thanks for sharing.

  13. Julia April 6, 2011 at 12:50 pm #

    I’m half way through knitting the Royal Wedding for my shop window – Kate, Wills, the Queen, Harry and the Archbishop are all done. Prince Philip is in pieces in a sandwich bag!

    On the assumption they’re all done in time and (let’s face it) the wedding won’t wait for my knitting (!), I’ll be watching it with a glass of bubbly, chocolate and (possibly) suitable cake and be knitting something completely different – sock anyone?

    Helen – how’s your sock knitting coming on?!!

    • Helen April 6, 2011 at 2:27 pm #

      I’m ashamed to say that I haven’t done any sock knitting, and very little knitting of any sort lately. I’m not sure that second sock will ever happen, but I *will* get back to the cardigan soon, I promise!

  14. Hannah April 6, 2011 at 2:52 pm #

    I expect I’ll be having a particularly lovely day as I’ll just have arrived back in Cornwall to celebrate the Royal Wedding Day – with YOU!! Not to forget your mother-in-law, husband and cat… 😉

    I have to say, before reading this post I’d never have thought I could get excited about a commemorative Royal Wedding tea towel – but I can!!

  15. Rebecca April 8, 2011 at 11:15 am #

    Oh, man. I found a toliet seat cover on Amazon and told my husband I thought I had found the craziest memorabilia…”unless, of course, they make a condom” was my comment. LOL!!

    I’d love to possibly win some sparkly nail polish! 😀 I’m thinking about travelling down to London on the 29th to join the crowds just for the experience of it. I have staff travel through my husband on all trains, so getting down will be easy….finding a spot to watch from ,not so much!!

  16. Ashley April 8, 2011 at 2:49 pm #

    I’m so wanting one of those toy royals from ELC but my anti-royalist husband will probably knack me for it.

    On the 29th I will force Jon to be the main caregiver while I sit on the couch, eating loads of rubbish food and surround myself with tissues in case I get the weepies. Wills was supposed to marry me, you know! ME! Damn that Kate and her swishy shiny hair.

  17. yankeeashley April 8, 2011 at 3:01 pm #

    I plan on forcing Jon to be the main caregiver to our children while I sit on the couch with my eyes glued to the TV. It was supposed to be my wedding. Damn that Kate and her swishy shiny hair.

    I want one of those ELC royal party toys. I think my anti-royalist husband would object, though. Screw him, I’m going to go get it!

Leave a Reply

