Green Glass

14 Apr

Because of my penchant for all things green, I seem to have been on the receiving end of a lot of gifts of green glass lately. I’m now amassing a small but growing collection of lovely green glass things.

A friend gave me this gorgeous little bowl and jug for Christmas. I think it looks particularly sweet on the stencilled Easter tablecloth I found at a car boot sale. And what better use for the bowl than …

… for holding a heap of mini eggs!

Another friend gave me these green candlesticks:

I love the spring-y butterfly and daffodil motif:

And just last week,  my mother-in-law gave me this stunning art deco green glass vase that belonged to her parents:

I thought it was perfect for tulips.

So I suppose this new-ish collection means I can add yet another item to my long list of things to be on the lookout for when wandering around boot sales and junk shops!

(I’ll leave you with one last photo of tulips since they’re so beautiful!)

5 Responses to “Green Glass”

  1. Leigh April 14, 2011 at 4:19 pm #

    Helen,
    I love the green glass pieces you have received. My grandmother gave me a set of Depression (green) glass plates that I love. You might have inspired me to start my own collection. And The tulips are stunning!
    Thanks for sharing.

  2. Liz April 14, 2011 at 5:37 pm #

    I love the candlesticks with the dinky butterfly wings..

  3. Kim April 15, 2011 at 9:02 am #

    The vase from your mil is gorgeous! I have a green depression glass bowl waiting for me in storage when we get back to the US!

    • Alex April 16, 2011 at 10:29 am #

      The vase with the tulips is stunning. How do you make them stand up like that? I am hopeless at flower arranging.

      • Helen April 16, 2011 at 11:00 am #

        It’s a magical vase! It has a little glass inset with individual holes for each flower stem. I’m a rubbish flower-arranger too, so this is a miracle for me!

Leave a Reply

