Antique Fairs

22 Apr

Today we trotted off to Wadebridge to the Antique Fair. It wasn’t as big as some of the fairs I’ve been to in the past (oh, Builth Wells, how I miss you!), but it was still very good. Good enough for the BBC to send Tim Wonnacott to film an episode of Bargain Hunt, at any rate.

I managed to resist the temptation of the lovely suitcases in the top picture, as well as some gorgeous vintage clothes and art deco cocktail bits and bobs.

But I still came home with a few purchases. I bought this etching:

I’m not sure where it’ll go yet, but I loved it too much to leave it behind. Then I picked up these amazingly ridiculous knitting patterns:

The husband needn’t worry. I won’t be knitting him a ribbed jumper. But I will be doing something with the pictures. How could I pass them up? 20p well spent.

And, finally, I bought this set of vintage glasses in a wire carrying tray:

If it hadn’t started raining this afternoon, we’d be sitting out in the garden using them with something Pimm’s-y at this very moment.

4 Responses to “Antique Fairs”

  1. Liz April 22, 2011 at 6:09 pm #

    I miss Builth too – but for other reasons and I love those glasses…

  2. Kim April 23, 2011 at 11:00 pm #

    Poor Guy won’t be getting a ribbed sweater. Wouldn’t he look fetching in one!? Those pictures are hilarious!

  3. Kate May 3, 2011 at 3:43 am #

    I just found your blog through the UK Yankee forum (I mostly read there rather than posting) and your pictures of the antique fair look great. My husband would actually love those knitting patterns and keeps pestering me for a vintage-style jumper! šŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

