Roger Williams Park and Zoo

9 Jul

While back in the U.S. recently, I spent quite a bit of time at Roger Williams Park. Back when I lived in Rhode Island, I worked at the zoo (which is in the park) as a docent, so this was definitely a return to my old stomping ground.

It’s a lovely zoo. Big enough so that there’s plenty to see, but not so big that it’s overwhelming.

Because one of my very best friends is the zoo’s Education Director, we were given a personal tour. A lot has changed since my days, so it was great to get the inside scoop!

Every summer, the zoo holds a big fundraising event called Zoobilee which is an evening function with food and drink from over 40 local restaurants, along with live music and dancing.

It’s always great fun and I’ve volunteered at it often in the past – so this year, when it turned out that I’d be in Rhode Island that week, I helped out again.

This year there were also some ‘living art’ characters, including this fabulous plant woman who emerged from a giant flower pot:

The zoo is in gorgeous Roger Williams Park, a 400+-acre park in Providence.

With lakes, a boathouse, a Temple to Music, a carousel, a planetarium, the Museum of Natural History, a Japanese garden, a rose garden, and so much more, the park is a great place to visit.

It really is one of my very favourite places.

One Response to “Roger Williams Park and Zoo”

  1. Trace July 17, 2011 at 5:59 pm #

    Love the animal pics!

Leave a Reply

